Uncategorized

The Blog Plunge

Crack open the bubbly! My site is finally up and running.

After months of contemplating whether I should get  a site going, I finally decided it was time. In the end, it came down to Weebly, Live Journal and WordPress. Can you guess who won the battle? There is a very good chance you just checked out my URL.

For anyone else thinking about joining cyberspace, this article was very helpful. Keep in mind that it is a year old, so some of the platforms will have made changes. Weebly was a very close second place for me, but in the end, WordPress won simply because I liked the look of it better. On a scale from 1 – 5, 1 being I would have prefered to fall off a cliff and 5 being fantastic, this is what I think of WordPress so far.

Ease of use – 4. Some things did trip me up, but I imagine this happens with any platform. I wasted most of my time playing around with the themes to be honest.

Organization – 4. All the editing buttons were easy to find. If I had a problem finding something, one quick Google search gave me my answer.

Time Spent. – 5. If I hadn’t wasted so much time fooling around with themes, backgrounds and banners, I could have been done within a few hours. Fooling around included, I would say it took me about 7 hours to get something that I was satisfied with.

Finished result – 5. I love it! I think the feel of it fits me perfectly and it’s a great representation of me. There are still a few pages I would like to add and I hope to have my blog schedule drawn up and posted within the next week, so stay tuned.

Finally, the big question.

Would I recommend it? Absofreakinlutely! It was alot easier than expected and the results are better than expected. What more could I ask for?

What do you think of the new site and what platform do you use?

 

Dream big,

Sarah

8 thoughts on “The Blog Plunge

  1. It’s fabulous! I really enjoy wordpress and think you’ve done a great job!

    The themes are lots of fun to play with. I change mine all the time, though I probably shouldn’t. 🙂

    Really nice job, S!

  2. Welcome, Sarah, to this brave new world. I think your blog looks yummy! I use blogger, but WordPress would have been as good a choice, and much easier for visitors than Live Journal. As your will-be visitor I’m glad you picked it.

  3. I’m a definite wordpresser, though I host my own, which I’ve found creates all new issues (and opportunities!). It definitely takes a lot of work to keep them relavant, fresh, and running, but its well worth it. Good Luck with your future in cyberspace!

Leave a Reply

