Etsy · Writing

A Crime of Neglect & The Resource Every Writer Needs

How do I plead? Guilty! Cuff me now and take me away! If you make me post a giant “BG” on my sidebar, I understand. I’m a blog neglecter and I know it.

Okay, so I’m being a bit of a drama queen, but I couldn’t believe it when I saw that it had been almost a month since I posted. A whole month! Time really does fly.

I’ve been playing with the idea of opening an Etsy shop, which has taken up a lot of my time. For anyone that doesn’t know what Etsy is, you should check it out. It’s a wonderful website where artists sell their creations and then there’s a section with people selling vintage items. There’s some really neat stuff!

Anyway, circling back to my blog, I will now post every Tuesday.  There might be a few other posts on random days, but Tuesday will officially be post day. I have really enjoyed doing the Unlikely Teachers Series and would like to continue doing occasional posts on it, but I will also be blogging about other topics. Guest bloggers for the Unlikely Teachers Series are always welcome, as are guest bloggers that would like to write a post on other topics!  Feel free to send me your ideas here.

Now that the official bloggily goop is out of the way, I’d love to share with you an amazing resource for writing.  In my last blog post, I had talked a bit about it:

“Emotion Thesaurus: If you are looking for your characters to do more than sigh and smile, this is the place to look. A multitude of character emotions at your finger tips. Just check out the right side bar on the site.

LINK: http://thebookshelfmuse.blogspot.ca/

It is one of my favourite resources, so I was ecstatic when the creators, Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi, released the book, The Emotion Thesaurus. It is now available both as a paper back and e-book. One of the nice things about the e-book version is that you can use the search function to quickly retrieve the info you are looking for. But in either format, I  honestly think this is an indispensable resource for any writer. I can’t recommend it enough. In case I’m not persuasive enough,  on Amazon The Emotion Thesaurus hit #1 for Kindle (paid) for Reference & #2 for Writing. Go check it out! I dare you!

If you do buy the book, I would love to know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

