Is Max And Ruby The Worst TV Show?

Max And Ruby

I spent the majority of last summer with my two nephews, who were 2 and 3 at the time. When I first arrived, I couldn’t understand why they ran around yelling, “Super Max! Super Max”. I quickly learned about my nephews’ love of Max and Ruby, a show about a brother and sister rabbit. In some episodes the little brother rabbit, Max, pretends to be super hero and calls out, “Super Max”, which explained my nephews’ new found catch phrase.

Sounds kind of sweet, right? I mean, what could possible be wrong with a show about sibling rabbits with healthy imaginations? Oh gosh, where to start. I promised myself I wouldn’t put you through my long and passionate Max and Ruby rant, but here are a few highlights:

 

-          These bunnies don’t have parents. This doesn’t bug me that much because I understand that it’s important for main characters to solve their own problems and that can be hard with grouwn ups around,  but it’s still odd that there’s never even a mention of parents. However, they do have a grandma that they occasionally visit. Maybe they’re bunny orphans?

 

-          They hardly, if ever, eat healthy food. They’re constantly gorging on candy and ice cream making me pretty sure the sequel to this show will be called, Obese Diabetic Rabbits. I think it’s ridiculous that people think the Cookie Monster sets a bad example, but this bunny show full of bad behaviour is willingly featured on millions of television sets and book shelves across the world. And yes, like any popular TV show, Max and Ruby can also terrorize people in hard cover and paper back.

 

-          Max is 3 and he rarely ever talks. When Max finally does try to communicate and tries to give Ruby a solution for a problem, Ruby refuses to listen to him. That is common sibling behaviour, but it’s the next part that really bothers me. Notably on an episode where Ruby is trying to count all the candy in a jar (told you they eat a lot of candy), she won’t let Max help because he’s too little. At the end of the episode she has no clue how much candy is in the jar, so she finally listens to Max’s number. It’s nice that she listens, but when she finds out the number is right she totally takes credit for it leaving poor little Max in the dust! This incident isn’t confined to this one episode, this occurs frequently in orphan bunny land.

 

There is so much more I could say, but I’ll leave it at that. I have been giving people my Max and Ruby rant all year, but the inspiration for this post came from the article, “10 Annoying Children’s Television Shows” published by Today’s Parents magazine I was pleased to see that another like-minded individual stuck Max and Ruby at #2 on the list. (Even though imo they undoubtedly deserved the top spot.)

Woo! That feels good to get off my chest.

What kids show drives you up the wall?

4 thoughts on “Is Max And Ruby The Worst TV Show?

  1. Oh dude… all your points are well taken, but I love Max and Ruby. I can’t help it, Max makes me giggle.

    But I can’t stand Yo GabbaGabba. It scares me. The big freaky green shirt thingy with long arms reminds me of Freddy Krueger and makes me run screaming from the room. My kids, however, are all about making me scream so they will point it out and leave it on that channel. :)

    • LOL! I’ve never watched Yo Gabba Gabba, but apparently a lot of adults don’t like it. I must say though, comparing the one character to Freddy is a reason I’ve never heard! :P

Leave a Reply

