Writing

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Katie L. Carroll was here a few months ago telling us all about her adorable kid, “The Boy”, and her fabulous new book Elixir Bound. Well today I have been tagged by her for the Next Big Thing Blog Hop! I can’t guarantee that my answers will be very exciting compared to others, but here it goes!

 

What is the working title of your book?

Kaboom!

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea came to me when I was watching my nephew try to jam way too many crayons in to a box.

What genre does your book fall under?

Children’s Picture Book

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh boy! That’s a toughie. I don’t know too many child actors or dog actors. If it was a cartoon, I’d love Adam Sandler to be the voice of anyone!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

After a box of crayons explodes, turning everything the wrong color, it is up to one little boy to make things right again.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Chances are I will be subbing directly to publishers, so neither.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A couple of days. I can’t begin to express how bad it was though! I think I am now on my 20th draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Hmmm, some readers have told me that it reminds them of Harold and The Purple Crayon. Mind you, I wonder if that’s just because they both have crayons in them ;).

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My nephews. Their antics often have my imagination running wild.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s a really fun book that is full of twists and turns.  Almost every child (and adult!) can relate to trying to fix a problem that just keeps getting bigger.

 

And that’s all folks! What have you been working on lately?

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

